Web Hosting Forums

This is a discussion on WordPress Permalink htaccess in the Hosting Talk & Chit-chat forum
Hey folks. I have installed WordPress on my site and have set up a custom permalink structure. Since WordPress could not edit the .htaccess file, ...

Loyal Client

WordPress Permalink htaccess

Hey folks. I have installed WordPress on my site and have set up a custom permalink structure. Since WordPress could not edit the .htaccess file, it gave me the code to cut and paste. I did this using the cpanel Edit .htaccess link.

The think is, it's not working, and I'm not sure why. I get a 404 error when trying to use the links. I have very little experience with this kind of programming (), and though I've looked through the forums and on other sites, I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. Is the code bad? Do I need to add something to the .htaccess file aside from what WordPress gave me? If anyone can help, I'd be astoundingly appreciative.

The code given to me by WordPress follows. It is the only code in the .htaccess file.

Thanks!

--Steve

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /wren_forum_new/
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
    RewriteRule ^.*$ - [S=35]
    RewriteRule ^feed/(feed|rdf|rss|rss2|atom)/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&feed=$1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^(feed|rdf|rss|rss2|atom)/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&feed=$1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^page/?([0-9]{1,})/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&paged=$1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^comments/feed/(feed|rdf|rss|rss2|atom)/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&feed=$1&withcomments=1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^comments/(feed|rdf|rss|rss2|atom)/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&feed=$1&withcomments=1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^comments/page/?([0-9]{1,})/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?&paged=$1 [QSA,L]
    RewriteRule ^search/(.+)/feed/(feed|rdf|rss|rss2|atom)/?$ /wren_forum_new/index.php?s=$1&feed=$2 [QSA,L]