Web Hosting Forums

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

This is a discussion on Some questions regarding VPS in the Hosting Talk & Chit-chat forum
This whole concept is really blowing my mind, virtually having your own dedicated server for as little as $19.95 /month. Since I am a newbie ...

Some questions regarding VPS

This whole concept is really blowing my mind, virtually having your own dedicated server for as little as $19.95 /month. Since I am a newbie to this I have a few questions.

How exactly does root access work on a server with others on it? Do I have access to actually set up my own software. For example, I was thinking of running a small counter strike server on this, would this be possible?

How is CPU usage then divided? What percentage does each person get?

How many other people will share a box with me?

What happens if I need to do a reboot? Will this just affect my share of the server or reboot the entire thing? Or is this even possible?

I see JPC supports Cpanel, does this mean I am allowed to run as many domains as I like?

Does tech support provide help getting things installed? How many hours of tech support administrative time is allowed for each plan?

Sorry for the long list but this looks awesome, something I would have never imagined 5 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by thehotweb View Post
    Do I have access to actually set up my own software.
    Yes, you have root level access.

How is CPU usage then divided? What percentage does each person get?
    We run an equal CPU share VPS environment, which most other providers do as well, which allows each vps to burst to 100% cpu, since limiting them to say even 50% has an adverse effect on performance.

How many other people will share a box with me?
    Typically ~25 vps on each node.

What happens if I need to do a reboot? Will this just affect my share of the server or reboot the entire thing? Or is this even possible?