Web Hosting Forums

This is a discussion on Memory Lane... Putty in the Hosting Talk & Chit-chat forum
So I'm fairly new to the VPS scene and I have successfully used Putty to do a few things like install imagemagick. Having not used ...

Nearly 100% Pure Carbon thecoalman's Avatar

Memory Lane... Putty

So I'm fairly new to the VPS scene and I have successfully used Putty to do a few things like install imagemagick. Having not used a command line since my days on Commodore 64 except for a few trivial things on widows I'm not sure if I'm liking it, I changed the colors and now I only need a soft fuzzy font similar to what the TV was prone to produce and it's 1983 all over again.

Is there any other tool for doing this anyone could suggest with maybe some shortcuts instead of having to type every thing in?

Not that I know of... I believe SSH would be the only way to execute commands...

HOWEVER

If you are trying to copy/paste a command from a webpage or something, you can do that... Simply highlight it from the source and then copy it... go into the putty screen and press:
    <Shift>+<Insert> and it will paste whatever you previously copied.
    -Daniel

If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce today would cost $100, get a million miles to the gallon, and explode once every few weeks.

My scripts never have bugs. They just develop random features.

Or you could just click the right mouse button on the terminal.. Figured that out already, without it I would have given up completely because my typing skills are lacking to say the least. I'm still pecking away after all these years, I can type fast but can't look at the screen at same time.

Really? What version of PuTTy are you using? I must need to update mine or something because I can right click on mine and it does nothing.
    -Daniel