Web Hosting Forums

This is a discussion on PHP5 Help in the Hosting Talk & Chit-chat forum
Hello all. I am on CentOS4 with plesk and will like to run an app in PHP5. I guess my best bet is to set ...

Loyal Client

PHP5 Help

Hello all.

I am on CentOS4 with plesk and will like to run an app in PHP5. I guess my best bet is to set something up so that one folder and sub-dirs under it run php5.

I am looking to run php5.2.6 and wonder if anyone can give me some tips on doing this.

I already asked support about upgrading my whole VPS to php5.2.6 but they told me they have some urgent stuff to do and can only do it later.

I am not an expert with this but able to dabble in stuff if I get clear instructions.

Thanks

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by dayo View Post
    Hello all.

I am on CentOS4 with plesk and will like to run an app in PHP5. I guess my best bet is to set something up so that one folder and sub-dirs under it run php5.

I am looking to run php5.2.6 and wonder if anyone can give me some tips on doing this.

I already asked support about upgrading my whole VPS to php5.2.6 but they told me they have some urgent stuff to do and can only do it later.

I am not an expert with this but able to dabble in stuff if I get clear instructions.

Thanks
    Hi Dayo,

Plesk does not officially support PHP 5.2.6. So far PHP 5.1.6 is officially supported. Although PHP 5.2.6 can be manually installed on your VPS but again, it is not going to be officially supported by Plesk. Same is the case with running both PHP4 and PHP5 at the same time. You might also be charged for the manual work. The best solution I would recommend would be to get PHP 5.1.6 which is officially supported and known to work well on Plesk servers.