Web Hosting Forums

This is a discussion on Any Good Beginner "Webmaster" Books? in the Hosting Talk & Chit-chat forum
I am just getting into this web stuff. I feel comfortable authoring pages in HTML and using FrontPage, but once I joined Aletia and started ...

Loyal Client

Any Good Beginner "Webmaster" Books?

I am just getting into this web stuff. I feel comfortable authoring pages in HTML and using FrontPage, but once I joined Aletia and started reading the forums and the online manual, I found that there was a whole world out there that I knew nothing about! This includes things like: command line stuff, PHP, Perl, CGI, Telenet, Cron, etc.

I realize that it is probably possible to bootstrap myself by combing the forums for a few months, but...

I am wondering if there exist any good books which could be used to get a start on understanding all this stuff. Hmmm, if no books, are there any web sites which are a good reference for this kind of "beginner information" stuff?

Thanks!

Judd

Loyal Client
    There are a lot of tutorials on the net today.
    For example I used this one to learn SSI,it's a pretty good tutorial.
    You find lot's of other tutorials at this page as well.

I don't know about books though.

http://www.useforesite.com/tut_ssi.shtml

alexodin
    oh...man !

You will get tons of links....or not at all.

Because your question is...dunno...HUGE

it is better to use some search engine like google.com and decide which resource is better for you.

a few links:
    programmersheaven.com PHP & Perl zone

webmonkey.com

phpbuilder.com

well...I better stop here

Loyal Client
    PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL! PERL!

Loyal Client